Jill


I was a pony mad child and rode from the age of 6 so growing up I was either with or on a pony and as soon as the dastardly exams were over I got a job out of ‘Horse and Hound’ and worked a very informative season on the Dan y Lan stud in Wiltshire. I learnt respect and management of their six stunning stallions and had the privilege of being dragged around every showground in the country by foals not appreciating their mothers showing their paces.

The following season I groomed on the Junior Showjumping circuit with the following winter back home breaking and schooling for a friend. I then worked for a lovely family in Derbyshire who were hunting, point to pointing and went on to team eventing.

I was also brought up with dogs, cats, budgies, tortoises and a hamster, living on a small holding where we kept goats, pigs and chickens.

When my children came along so did ponies, Dolly and Boots (on loan as my niece had outgrown him) and Dolly’s foal Smartie, Dolly was very cheeky and regularly got out of her paddock and would let her self into the kitchen and turn the tap on???!!! Dear ancient Boots sadly passed away after retiring back home with my niece and Dolly and Smartie are happily giving a lot of children a lot of pleasure at Crosswell riding centre.

I went to Coleg Sir Gar (Carmarthen) College as a mature student and qualified and worked there. I was an Assessor in the Animal Care and Equine Departments. I was also a learning support Assistant groom, exam invigilator, horse box driver (I took a college horse to Hartpury for the Japanese Paralympic team) and did the catering for Visiting BHS Examiners.
I also worked as a learning support Assistant in the animal care department where they keep geckos, snakes, tree frogs, tarantulas, etc, and took students to a great dane kennels for experience.

I bred and showed labradors successfully for many years and currently keep two black labs.

Until recently I lived on a NH yard and was involved with tending injuries, assisting the vet, nursing after ops, colic and general horse care.

I have a current CRB check as I’ve worked with children and vulnerable adults.

I have a keen eye for Health and Safety and have good veterinary knowledge.

Work Experience with Preseli Animal Homecare

Since working for Preseli Animal Homecare, I have had the great pleasure of looking after the following pets:-

– 4 alpacas, 5 dogs, 2 pigs, several horses, donkeys and chickens, 1 turkey and 4 sheep – Nantgaredig, Carmarthen



PHP Code Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com